Deranged

A little more appeased now.

I’ve been given the green light to go home, but I requested to see the rheumatology team before going home. Why? Because my issue with the pain has not been resolved. If I am going to be banned from my diclofenac, I am helpless.

I requested to be served all my usual medications since I was fit for home, and alas they gave in. That’s the surgical team for you!

I read my case notes. I know it’s a big no-no for patients to read their case notes. But I don’t really care, because there’s been a lot of things uncommunicated to me and between the healthcare professionals.

Turns out that my full blood count was deranged. What I was told was that only my haemoglobin stood at 7.4. When I inquired about my white cell counts and my electrolytes, I was only told that my urea was high, and everything else was ok. Kinda hard to believe actually.

My RBC count stood low at 2.59. My haematocrit even lower at 21.8%. My WBC count was a little high at 11.81. My platelets a little high as well at 413. Neutrophils high at 10.10. Sodium at a teeny weeny low at 134. And urea high at 8.2.

Deranged counts and all they told me was that my Hb was low, and urea a little high. What happened to the rest?

I’m not stupid you know. I read somewhere in the clerking notes mentioning that I’m a nursing student, and that I used quite a bit of medical jargon. I don’t recall any use of jargon, unless you consider words like thrombocytopenia, exertional dyspnea, effort intolerance, malaise, MCPs, MTPs, as jargon.

I don’t think it’s necessarily bad to have a patient who knows her stuff. In fact in can be more of a boon and bane, depending on how you’d like to look at it. I was just peeved at how they omitted information from me, and took away what little control I have by depriving me of my medications. And yes, they let my pain be as well, and that is unforgiveable.

But anyhow, my counts are better now. Looking forward to get out and return to work!

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

