putting down my calling

a time for discernment.

(please note that as this post is published, no action as been taken yet. still discerning!)

it’s the time for me to finally say, that i am putting nursing down and aside.

it’s been 5 years since near graduation that my life changed, although i really thought my life had changed when i heard and heed God’s calling to be a nurse in 2008. it wasn’t too far apart- merely 2.5 years and it fell apart. each time i came out of the hospital as an inpatient i returned as a nursing student or a staff nurse, only to fall apart. my graduation got delayed. my growth as a staff nurse got delayed. these when everything pointed to my capabilities to being otherwise. i was always doing well, most times pushed to limits others weren’t even, although they were at the same pace at me. i see that at my saving grace, but i also see that as nothing. i couldn’t survive psychologically.

caring for my patients heal me, and it is probably my Bread. but working in an environment with that much tension, i admit, that all that healing runs into negativity. there are too many to ‘please’, too many people to listen to, not good enough for all of them. and i am but only me. i am rather odd when i am nursing my patients. i am stubborn, and very stubborn at that. it can be troubling to my colleagues when i’m new and i do and decide things alone. but i do so with my own knowledge. i trust what i’ve learnt and read extensively- textbooks, journals, peer-reviewed papers etc.  i trust what i’ve experienced and what i’ve learnt not to do when i was younger as a student. but people take offense, and so take offense at me. i can’t change and lower myself to please them in that way, because i don’t want to compromise patient’s care, although i can ask more and be receptive. but it’s been imprinted. done and dusted.

i keep believing that with my recent recovery efforts, it’s enough for my psychiatrist to lift off the major depressive disorder(MDD) diagnosis. but it never seems enough no matter how severe or how minor my symptoms are. i get upset sometimes this year when he says he can’t lift it and i have to make him go through the entire diagnostic criteria to convince me. after so much of medications, ECTs and therapy, i’m still in depression. it’s sad to say with my own insight that perhaps i really am not recovered enough to handle the toxic work environment of a hospital (although i choose to work in a hospital). i want to choose happiness, finally. because of 5 years even though nursing is my lifeline, it’s made me so so so sad. it made me cry so much, and it made me hurt myself (triggered by nursing school).

it really came to light when i’m only 1.5 months into my current job and i’ve already broken down in the ward in front of my Nurse Clinician. there are too much things i cannot reconcile in this workplace and it causes me great tension. and already there are colleagues who are hating on me because i’m not picking up their (bad) practices fast enough, or for whatever immature reason it is. i have enough on my plate (health issues). and i sense that the Ward Managers/Clinician are wanting to push me too, accelerating my progress a little fast. it’s like, i already hate my job, other than my patients who sustain me.

i keep talking with God, asking Him to grant me His grace of His wisdom of what His will is of me. i know He wants me to be a nurse. but things can change, and i want to choose to be happy. 2 years ago when i was spending 6 months in the hospital, my treatment team kept asking me to change careers. they almost begged me not to return to nursing anymore. but i told them with conviction that it is my calling and that i have to follow it. i was never a staunch Catholic, but i would never understand why i would heed God’s calling so faithfully. perhaps this is it. this is my time to switch.

i don’t know where i’ll go, but i know that God has carved a path for me. i will never stop caring, because as a patient, i can never ignore what patients feel. so now, i’m sitting on Counselling, and praying as much as i can, asking for as many friends to pray for and with me as i discern where i should go.

(a little over a year ago i wanted to do Social Work. this year, i suddenly switched my mind to Counselling and i see that firstly as a sign from God. as many of my friends, colleagues and family have told me, i love to talk and i am very eloquent. with the empathy i have built across the years, i am hoping Counselling will have a place for me, if God wills.)

Leave a Reply

